“So Miss,…”

“…are you Muslim? Are you American? Or are you Portuguese?”

Lol, it’s been 3 weeks since I’ve taught Art Club. It was so funny seeing how some of the girls reacted to my wearing hijab. But, wearing hijab, teaching Art in my non-British accent, and translating my instruction for two girls (one from Brazil, and another from Portugal via Cape Verde).

Alhamdulillah it was rewarding as much as it was challenging.

I begin to wonder, however, how will I ever keep myself energized and interested in one thing for so long. Sure, it was fun at first (teaching Art or being a volunteer) but now I just want to stay in bed and retreat from society for a bit.

And I get like this rather frequently. I don’t know if it is lack of energy, interest, or commitment issues but I have a terrible problem of not finishing what I’ve started.

Arrrgh, it gets better, inshaAllah.

In other news, I went to my first pilates class. The Sisters of the Islamic Society of Imperial University (the Uni we’re affiliated with here in London) is offering the classes. Not bad not bad. The instructor complimented me on my technique–nice. All Sisters. It was about 8 of us. For an hour. And boy are pilates hard!

But, now I’m back to the stressing. I don’t know why I was so sad today. Like on the verge of tears on my way home. Sometimes, I just don’t know what the solutions are even going to look like. Just so much in this world. I dunno.

It’s 11pm. I still have not completed the paperwork to get my research approved. I still have to do A. and B. and C. I don’t even know…I’m off to bed I guess.

-adr.

Leave a Reply

