“Se Deus quiser”

So much to share and so little time. My days have been as short as ever this week. I arrived back to my flat from Portugal on Monday at 2am. Woke up a few hours later to commute to work. Then class. Then up all night working on a grant proposal. Following, overslept, went to school. Then, had an interview for an opportunity at my University. Rushed to take an International Trade exam only to look at the questions and go “What the…”

Today, like the past few days, I’ve been wanting nothing more than to sleep. I find myself sleep walking to work and class and then back home all on my amazingly stressful commute on the overcrowded Tubes…haha, never thought I’d get tired of it. But yea, I’m an official Londoner and I no longer look forward to riding the Tube.

Nevertheless, I write with my spirits high. For today I attended the Imperial College Islamic Society’s Freshers Dinner. The three hours I spent there reminded me of what I miss so dearly in my life: faith in the word of Allah (God). One of the things that I’ve always admired of the Muslim spirit is humility. No matter that task, anything spoken to happen of the future is followed by an “inshAllah” (be it the will of Allah), kind of like the Brazilian phrase “Se Deus quiser” (if God wants it).

When I witness women wearing their hijabs, I remember the grace and beautiful modesty that Islam instilled in me as a young girl. I now look forward to reconnecting with my faith as I accept the fact that my time has soon come to become closer to my Divinity, inshalllah. So long have I searched for an answer and for a while I have let worldly fears consume me. But no longer. I believe now, more than ever, in the verse:

“This day I have perfected your religion for you, completed
My favor upon you, and have chosen for you Islam as your religion”
(5:3).

I find myself wanting to just lie in bed and read Qu’ran and meditate. Finally, I am ready to become a Muslimah and re-identify with the Amira (princess) that I am, inshallah.

Wasalaam,

adr

P.S. Portugal pics coming soon!

Leave a Reply

